RSS

Ode to Cantaloupe

13 Aug

Ode to Cantaloupe

Dear local Dixon Melons, vine-ripened in Montana,

As soon as I walked into the Good Food Store this morning, I could smell your delicious fragrance perfuming the air – it was then that I knew that today was the day I’ve long waited for, my most favorite day of the summer. Today, was Dixon Melon day!

I was there at the GFS only 3 days ago – I looked for you, then, but sadly you were not there. But today?! Huzzah!! I left the store victorious, with a joyful plan to feast upon you with every meal for the rest of the weekend!

So, thanks, and stuff, for like, ya know, growing and being super awesome – truth be told, though, I’m a little sore at you for spoiling all other cantaloupe for me. In the famed words of Sinead O’Connor: Nothing compares to you.

In gratitude for my local Dixon Melon farmers,
Nicole

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 13, 2017 in Creative Writing, Fun

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
