RSS

Earth Touchings

31 Aug

DSCN4100

Every morning, after my sitting meditation session, I practice three touchings of the earth (where I kneel on the floor and then bow forward, touching my forehead to the ground) and with each one I internally say a gratitude – the first one stays the same and the second & third vary each day.

This morning, my gratitudes were:

“I bow to the earth in gratitude for this one precious life”

“I bow to the earth in gratitude for all of the creative outlets that exist: writing, drumming, spoken word, art, music, photography…”

“I bow to the earth in gratitude for all of the people that allow me to deepen my capacity for developing understanding, compassion, and acceptance – which is everyone! I’m grateful for people.”

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2016 in Everyday Practice

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Earth Touchings

  1. Llora

    August 31, 2016 at 7:06 pm

    Yay! You’ve inspired me to add this practice in!

     
    • goingoutwordsandinwords

      September 1, 2016 at 2:30 pm

      Huzzah! :) I really enjoy it myself – it’s amazing how many things I can come up with each day to be grateful for! The possibilities are endless!

       

Leave a Reply

 
