RSS

Words of Wisdom

21 Jul

DSCN3346

I’d been visiting Al every Tuesday at 10:00am for over a year, before he passed away, 3 days ago. He was 91 years old, though he often liked to tell me he was 100. I never disagreed, as it seemed to bring him a wave of pride and pleasure to share with me the fact that he had reached triple digits. Besides, I figured, whether 91, 94, 97, or 100, they’re all milestones in my book, each one indicating having lived a long life.

Back in April, during one of our weekly visits, I decided it would be a good idea to jot down some of the things he said. I sat next to him with some paper and a pen and told him my intention. He found it humorous, and mildly baffling, that I wanted to record his Words of Wisdom, as I called it. He didn’t feel what he had to say was of any special value or worth remembering. But he obliged me just the same. (Sometimes it takes a writer to determine what’s noteworthy – as you’ll see, he’s very insightful.)

Here’s what I scribbled down in sloppy handwriting, so as to capture his words verbatim, that one day:

The Devil never dies, he’s with us all the time. It’s how well you can control him. He’s just like having a mean dog.

Your mental attitude is hooked to well being.

You’re living a habit. Something not seeming important will be in the future.

You don’t realize how you can mold your life. You are the one commander of your own mind and body. Don’t let it get away from you.

I still think of myself as a young man. Hell, you have to.

A smile will get you more friends than a grimace. You’ve got to smile at society.

Nothing in my life has been dead serious. Nothing can’t be changed.

Get along with your fellow man.

Gray hair ain’t heavier to carry around – and they take less water.

When you get up in the morning, get a smile on your face.

He called this one Al’s Secret to Longevity: If you have a choice between making a friend or an enemy, always make a friend. I always figured it was better to make a friend.

Walk away from cranky people, they’ll affect you.

Carrying a grudge gets to be pretty solid after awhile.

Boy, it’s nice to be alive today.

Thank you for being my friend Al. It was a great pleasure to know you. Rest in peace, my friend.

In memory of Al, 1925-2016

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 21, 2016 in Everyday Practice

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Words of Wisdom

  1. 5amt3n

    July 28, 2016 at 12:11 pm

    I was very touched by this post. Thank you. I lead a walk-in meditation group at a hospice here where I live; if you are okay with it, I would love to share it with the group.

     

Leave a Reply

 
