RSS

Anniversary

07 Mar

loveatfirstsight                                          I’ve entitled this edited picture of Mike and I, taken in 2014: Love at First Sight :)

This Wednesday, March 9th, my husband Mike and I will celebrate 16 years of married life together. I think our marriage has lasted this long due, in part, to the spirit in which the above photo was taken – that of fun and humor!

And had it not been for our shared mindfulness practice in Thich Nhat Hanh’s tradition I don’t think we would’ve been able to weather the storms and challenges we’ve been able to. So I attribute our strong relationship to both humor and mindfulness.We have a lot of fun together. I can safely say that we laugh almost everyday together, which I think is a big part of our success as a couple.

We got married young enough for my mom to be pretty upset when I told her we were engaged (as most concerned, caring mothers would be). I was 19 when I met Mike, and he was 20. We got engaged in Las Vegas, of all places, only 2 months after we started dating and were married just 9 months later. Normally the odds would be against such young-aged marriages working out, but then Mike and I have always leaned towards the atypical side of things, even when growing up in our own respective parts of the country, he in Montana and me in the suburbs of Philly.

Now here we are, in the year we both will turn 37 years old. And together we stand side by side, full of love and gratitude for the life we share. It hasn’t always been easy or wonderful. And I’m sure there will be more rough waters that lie ahead of us. But here, in this moment, as we approach our anniversary, I can honestly say that there’s little that qualifies as being more important then the time I spend nourishing my relationship with my sweet, dear husband.

Here’s to being madly in love with your partner after 16 years!

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
