RSS

A Sunday Walk

20 Sep

IMG_6885

I’ve been putting some intentional effort to get out and go for a short walk once or twice a week around my neighborhood.  A lot of my time is spent writing or on the computer and I just don’t get enough movement and exercise in my day.  I went for about a 40 minute walk just a little bit ago.  It’s a lovely, sunny, autumn day here in the mountains.

It’s a nice way to develop a deeper connection to one’s neighborhood by going for walks around them.  I like to take different routes and go down streets I never had before.  Some particular things I enjoyed seeing on my walk today were: a long legged dog rolling around enthusiastically on its back in the dirt, an older man operating what appeared to be a home-made remote control lawn mower, a parade of yellow leaves floating down a nearby stream, and a tree trunk that was twisted around itself.

IMG_6883

I like to use my walks to practice mindful breathing, smiling, and joyfulness by paying attention to the houses and yards as I pass by them and opening my heart to the people dwelling inside.  I like to practice looking up when I’m on walks too.  Sending my eyes upwards to the tree tops and clouds. The simple act of looking up helps us to expand our perspective and can often remind us to come back home to the present moment.

IMG_6881

The first picture above is from a nearby labyrinth, situated next to a community garden behind a local church about a 10 minute walk from my house.  Sometimes I walk there and slowly move through the labyrinth.  For years I didn’t even know it was there.  And sometimes, like today, I just stopped by to enjoy its presence.

IMG_6889

There’s so much to see in one’s neighborhood.  So much to absorb through the senses.  If we use it as a practice of connection and joy we can transform our steps into an art – the art of mindful walking.  Enjoy your steps my friends!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2015 in Everyday Practice

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “A Sunday Walk

  1. vajpayee04

    September 20, 2015 at 9:07 pm

    yes there are lots of benefits of walking.

     
  2. ViewPacific

    September 21, 2015 at 10:27 am

    Thanks for the inspiration. I like that idea of holding neighbors in our hearts as we walk past. That sounds like both mindfulness and heartfulness practice.
    Enjoy your steps!
    Vincent

     
    • goingoutwordsandinwords

      September 21, 2015 at 2:35 pm

      I’ve been enjoying the practice – and I like the term heartfulness practice you used. I think when it comes down to it mindfulness can be described as practice of the heart – I love it!

       
  3. Wendy

    September 25, 2015 at 5:33 am

    Thanks Nicole,

    This one was a perfect way to start off my day today, remembering to practice opening my heart to random people :)

     
  4. Chris La Tray

    September 28, 2015 at 3:23 pm

    Ah, I very much know what you mean by connecting close to home. My “one-sentence journal” entry for the very day you posted your thoughts is this: “Captioning a photo from the riverbank at Council Grove for Instagram, I was struck that for all the epic landscapes I see across a plethora of jaw-dropping images from wild locations at the brutal edges of survivable nature around the world, it is moments in my own backyard that connect me to and make me love the world the most.”

    I’d love to see that labyrinth.

     

Leave a Reply

 
