RSS

Present Moment, Wonderful (Rainy) Moment

04 Sep
Weather photo from the Missoulian from Sept. 3rd. By Carson C., 10 years old. (I'm pretty sure the words on the right say Noodles Express :)

Weather pic from the Missoulian by 10 year old Carson C. – the words on the right say Noodles Express :)

Yesterday morning I woke up at 4:00am to the wonderful sound of rain outside.  Situated here in the Rocky Mountains we’ve been in the midst of a very active fire season this year, along with our northwestern neighbors of Idaho and Washington.  While fire season is nothing new around these parts I was reading in the news that the severity of our air quality has been the most troublesome its been in over 10 years.  And, the article noted, fire season isn’t over for us yet.  We got a little reprieve from our dry, smokey conditions by getting some much needed rain yesterday, with lower than average temperatures rolling in.

I had such a lovely morning yesterday – listening to the rain, sipping tea, and starting a new book I was eager to read.  My living room window was open and the cool, dark morning air sifted in along with the sweet sound of the rain.  I opened the front door and the rich fragrance of wet earth was simply amazing.  On Wednesday I had stopped to smell some beautiful roses whose scent was similar in nature – incredible beyond words.  Breathing in deeply the perfumed morning air yesterday a thought arose, Never before have I inhaled such a wonderful aromatic bouquet!   And then I remembered thinking the same thing about the roses from the day before.  One of the things I most appreciate about having a mindfulness practice is the power to transform everyday situations into precious moments – where every rose and rainstorm have the ability to be the best smelling rose and rainstorm ever.  I am so grateful for being in touch with a practice whose foundation is that each present moment has the capacity to be the most wonderful moment.

IMG_6802

By book light yesterday morning I wrote this:

It’s nearly 5:00am and the quilt of darkness is still thick
Rain has come!
Much welcomed rain, needed rain, fresh and delicious rain
A few cars are starting to slosh through the streets
slick with water
When dawn comes the mountains will be lit with green,
revived, beaming with new breath
Slow…quickened…slow…quickened
the rain’s heartbeat changes tune
and a fragrance I can only absorb through my grateful senses
envelopes me with ease
quenching a thirst I didn’t know I had

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Present Moment, Wonderful (Rainy) Moment

  1. Water Words

    September 4, 2015 at 9:40 am

    Thanks for the LIKE on my P2Walk article. I also write P2SUP and Elder SUP – will be following you. Are you on Facebook?

     

Leave a Reply

 
