RSS

Community Sharing

14 Dec
Thanksgiving Community Potluck

Thanksgiving Community Potluck

Community building is something I prioritize and greatly enjoy putting time and energy into.  If it involves bringing people together I’m all for it – whether it’s a potluck, celebration event, club meeting, sangha circle, sporting event, performance, getting tea with a friend, or a family gathering the power of coming together with others is just awesome!

I have the wonderful opportunity to come together with others in a multitude of ways from helping to facilitate my sangha on Monday nights to working with middle school students to volunteering with hospice to leading board meetings and hosting community events and potlucks.  It is a joy and a gift to be able to come together with others.

A few weeks ago I helped to host a community Thanksgiving meal at our house – last weekend I put on an open mic night at our local meditation center – yesterday I attended our annual solstice celebration at our meditation center – and tomorrow I’m looking forward to our annual white elephant gift exchange with my local sangha Be Here Now.  Sharing food over Thanksgiving, sharing music and creativity at our open mic night, and sharing silence and stories at the solstice event puts me in touch with a deep well of gratitude.  I am because my community is.  I am inspired, filled up, supported, and transformed by all of the many wonderful folks I come into contact with.

Open mic night at the Open Way Mindfulness Center, December 2014

Open mic night at the Open Way Mindfulness Center, December 2014

A life lived without the direct influence of others can become out of balance, ungrounded, and unfocused.  On top of receiving support and care we need others in order to give us perspective, relational comparison, insights, and opportunities for growth.  We need others to share with and to offer ourselves to.  We need others in order to reach our full potential and to actualize well being.  We need others to sustain life and to make it worth living.

Thank you dear friends, family, sangha, and world community for being here now with me on this lovely planet.

Open Way Sangha solstice celebration, December 2014

Open Way Sangha solstice celebration, December 2014

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
