RSS

Recommended Read

21 Mar

9781582703732_p0_v1_s260x420

Browsing through our local Book Exchange store a few months ago I came upon this book (pictured above).  Not being an avid reader I didn’t actually get to reading it until recently.  But with my new morning routine, since coming back from my recent one-month retreat at Deer Park Monastery, I’ve been waking up early, reading, and then practicing sitting meditation.  I’m almost finished with this book entitled, A Spiritual Renegade’s Guide to the Good Life by Lama Marut.  And while I’ve not connected with everything in this book I have very much enjoyed it and would recommend it to others.

Lama Marut’s book is filled with humor, insight, real world correlations, big fancy type words I had to look up the definitions for, and a laid back approach, and did I mention humor?  On the back of the book cover it explains Lama Marut as “an ordained Buddhist monk, a university professor, a surfer, and a motorcycle enthusiast.”  And while pictures of motorcycles grace the front cover of the book and are peppered throughout the chapters, there is no real connection that I can ascertain between them and the content he writes about.  So, in case you were wondering, this book does not, as the cover may imply, have anything to do with motorcycles.  I think it is Lama Marut’s clever way of drawing us rogue spiritual types in to pick up the book :)  And apparently, in my case at least, it worked!

There are a lot of great quotes throughout the book, such as:

He who knows enough is enough will always have enough.  – Lao Tzu

The future influences the present just as much as the past.  – Friedrich Nietzsche

You wander from room to room hunting for the diamond necklace that is already around your neck! – Rumi

And amidst the quotes and all of the humor are down to earth teachings on gratitude, forgiveness, cultivating happiness, transforming the past and the future, the principles of karma, and re-engaging with the present moment.  And if you have a smart phone (of which I do not) you can also scan multiple codes throughout the book, which take you to videos associated with the different topics he covers.

Happy reading (and watching, if you have a smart phone :)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2014 in Everyday Practice

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Recommended Read

  1. rawmissoula

    March 21, 2014 at 9:59 am

    Sounds interesting! Being an avid reader, you’ll have to loan it to me. I love book recommendations. :)

     
  2. goingoutwordsandinwords

    March 21, 2014 at 10:05 am

    I thought of you in regards to this book, good to know you’re interested – when I’m done with it, it’s yours!

     

Leave a Reply

 
