RSS

Deer Park, Day Twenty-Six

05 Mar
View from my rocks up the fire road

View from my rocks up the fire road

Deer Park, Day Twenty-Six 

(written on Wednesday February 5th)

6:00pm.

Today was the last day in our string of lazy days.  I can’t remember when last we had a regular schedule.  It has been over a week and a half I think.  Perhaps it was on Sunday the 26th of January for the day of mindfulness.  We’ve had a program here and there since then but nothing consistent.  I think also that this marks day six of not doing morning sitting meditation together as a community.

Tomorrow will be the regular Thursday community day of mindfulness starting at 9:00am.  I am looking forward to sitting in the big hall tomorrow morning and hearing the wake up bell at 5:00am.  How lovely it will be to have some practice time before I leave on Friday to help send me on my way.

View of the main hall and Solidity Hamlet from the fire road

View of the main hall and Solidity Hamlet from the fire road

I did some sitting on my own both in the morning and before dinner tonight.  I have felt the strong momentum of the past three weeks here at Deer Park in these last few lazy days and over TET.  I have been able to sit with joy and ease on my own twice a day.  When I’ve sat on my cushion my body simply sinks into the river of the Buddha, the Dharma, and the Sangha without effort.  My sitting has been solid as a mountain and also light as a feather.

Today I played some guitar and sang, did Qi Gong, went for a walk up the fire road to visit my rock and overlook the sprawling valley, listened to music, read, studied, took a nap, and enjoyed the warm sun.  I saw a few magnificent birds around the oak grove too!  Maybe red tail hawks?  They frequent the oak trees and soar gracefully around the branches.  They are amazing!

A little creation I made on the fire road :)

A little creation I made on the fire road :)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
