RSS

On My Way

08 Jan
(borrowed from an online source)

(pic: borrowed from an online source)

 

Early Friday morning I will be taking flight to Deer Park Monastery in southern California.  Right now the monks and nuns there are in the midst of their annual three month winter meditation retreat and I will be attending as a layperson for four weeks.  Laypeople are welcome during the monastic retreat but there is not a set program for us so I anticipate a lot of personal practice time.  I am looking forward to the deeper practice experience with little distractions, few people, and a vast natural beauty surrounding the monastery.  I’m also aware that the reality of how little there really will be to do might settle in once I get there and I will go through a period of adjustment that might take some time.

In 2009 I attended a week long retreat at Deer Park with our teacher Thich Nhat Hanh and 1,000+ people.  I look forward to returning (with less people and more silence :).

As I won’t have internet access during the retreat my blog will not be updated until I get back in early February. I do however plan on writing everyday and taking pictures so my blog will be quite active with posts when I get back :)  Stay tuned…

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2014 in Deer Park Monastery

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “On My Way

  1. smilecalm

    January 8, 2014 at 10:57 pm

    how wonderful.
    I’ve been there during several winters.
    may it be most rewarding.
    say hello to phap ho for me :-)

     
  2. goingoutwordsandinwords

    January 8, 2014 at 11:01 pm

    I will surely try to remember to pass along your greetings :) Rowan also wanted me to do the same for him :)

    I would love to hear more about your winter retreat experiences!

     
  3. Gede Prama

    January 9, 2014 at 1:25 am

    Thank you very much, I’am really glad that I’m following you. I’m still figuring out. Just wanted to say that you are an awesome blogger, Inspiring and May you inspire more readers essentially perfectly ok. greetings from Gede Prama :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
