RSS

Daily Practice – Day 19

11 Apr

150165_559185370781039_1606408388_n

Day 19 – Before I did my sitting today I sang the morning chant which I really enjoy and don’t often do.  I find that the morning and evening chants are nice ways to start off my sitting meditation.

This week I’ve had very fully days.  Often going from morning to night with meetings and projects and to-do lists.  I appreciate the momentum that has been building up over the last 19 days in regards to my daily sitting meditation practice.  In the past it was so easy for me to make excuses of reasons why it didn’t work to sit from one day to the next.  I think it’s easy to tell ourselves that we don’t have time, that our lives are too busy for this or that.  And often what we don’t have time for is something that’s beneficial, healthy or supportive to our overall well being, such as: more rest, better eating habits, more exercise, more time with friends and so on.  We tell ourselves, and anyone who will listen, how busy our lives are as if our daily schedule was created by someone else and handed to us at the last minute.

Sometimes we forget that how our day unfolds is directly due to decisions that we ourselves make.  We are the only ones that can prioritize the things and people in our lives.  If we find that we have no time for cultivating friendships and spending time with family it’s because we’ve set our lives up that way.  If we have no time to meditate then it’s because we’ve made something else more important.  With every decision we make, whether it’s conscious or unconscious, we set up our own lives.  We are the only ones who can.

 
 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
