RSS

Daily Practice – Day 15

07 Apr

IMG_2633

Day 15 – Today I sat for 10 minutes.  It felt like a natural progression to increase my sitting time by a few minutes.

The picture above I took just minutes ago.  I find it illustrates beautifully the great challenge of life.  What is the great challenge you ask?  From what I can tell, the great challenge is grasping.  Interwoven with grasping is attachment and interwoven with attachment is delusion.  Every difficulty we encounter or create in our daily lives can be linked to grasping, attachment, and delusion.

The daffodil above is a vision of loveliness.  Its golden petals are in delicate balance.  It is beautifully unfolding and its vibrance is set up magnificently against the cobalt blue of the bottle.  Yet soon it will wither and die.  The flower will not last long in its current brilliant state of being.  If we are caught in grasping its form, as it exists today, we will be saddened and disappointed when it starts to wither.  Looking deeply we can see that when we are caught up in grasping we are also attached to something.  In this case we would be grasping its beauty and attached to how it existed in the past.  The delusion is that the flower is of a permanent, unchanging nature.

This is a simple example that may be easy to understand.  However, this is also how we interact with many things and experiences in our daily life.  We often grasp at thoughts, views, emotions, events, people, places, and things.  We often get attached to how things used to be or are supposed to be.  And we often get stuck in our delusion that life is permanent, unchanging, and separated into realms of right and wrong.

It is not the unfolding of life that causes upset and difficulty to arise, it is how we relate to it and move forward.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2013 in 21 Days of Sitting

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Daily Practice – Day 15

  1. Lois

    April 7, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    Glad things are going well

     
    • goingoutwordsandinwords

      April 7, 2013 at 4:39 pm

      Thank you so much for your support my friend, I really appreciate it.

       
      • Lois

        April 7, 2013 at 4:43 pm

        Things are a little hectic here at the moment, but when they have calmed down I’m going to follow your example and try for a manageable amount of sitting each day for a set number of days.
        Your posts are always so interesting, and always give me much to think about, so thank you too!

         
  2. goingoutwordsandinwords

    April 7, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    Hi Lois :) I would like to offer my support to you as well. I have found that even three deep breaths are of great benefit, especially when things are hectic. I think there can be some danger in thinking that we need to wait in order to practice. Even if it’s one breath, that is enough. I would encourage you to connect with your breath as you go about your day. What I like about the practice of deep breathing is that I can take it with me wherever I go and apply it to whatever I’m doing. It’s a practice that travels :) Even when I haven’t had the time or made it a priority to sit in meditation I can come back to my breathing in and breathing out and connect with the present moment.

    If you’re interested in reading more about deep breathing and haven’t read my post on it yet you can click on the Mindfulness Instruction link under the Categories heading.

    I hope this helps a little. I’m walking the path of deeper understanding and mindfulness right along beside you my friend.

     

Leave a Reply

 
