RSS

Daily Practice – Day 13

05 Apr

form-is-emptiness-vox_5

Day 13 – I did my sitting this morning before heading out the door for the day and then just tonight read the Discourse on the Dharma Seal from my Plum Village Chanting Book.  In reading some of the buddha’s teachings in the discourses I’ve been finding that a majority of it is confusing to me but there are a few words or a few sentences that I absorb.  In the beginning of my practice when listening to a dharma talk or reading a book I would put pressure on myself to understand it all right away but now I see the benefit of simply taking in a teaching and allowing the rain of the dharma to fall over me.  And sometimes I take something tangible away and sometimes I don’t.  And sometimes understanding unfolds over time.

Here’s a passage from the discourse I read tonight:

“Bhikshus (fully ordained monk), find a quiet place to meditate, such as a forest under a tree.  There you can see that form is painful, empty, and impermanent, and as a result, you will not be attached to form.”  (First Door of Liberation)

“Bhikshus, dwelling in concentration, see the dissolution of form, and be free from the illusory nature of perception vis-a-vis form.”  (Second Door of Liberation)

“Bhikshus, once you are free from the view ‘I am,’ you no longer consider what you see, hear, feel, and perceive as realities independent of your own consciousness.  Why?  Because you know that consciousness also arises from conditions and is impermanent.  Because of its impermanent nature, it cannot be grasped either.”  (Third Door of Liberation)

tumblr_mcwx0hb1Qd1rsl8geo1_400

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2013 in 21 Days of Sitting

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Daily Practice – Day 13

  1. justmeactually

    April 6, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    I know exactly how you feel. I too put a lot of pressure on myself to completely understand teachings the first time around, but now I understand that perhaps I’m not ready yet. Each time I re-read a meaningful book, I take away something new and different than the last time.

     
    • goingoutwordsandinwords

      April 6, 2013 at 11:40 pm

      Teachings are indeed a process of unfolding. Thank you for stopping by and for commenting :)

       

Leave a Reply

 
