RSS

Embracing the Weather

11 Aug

Greenough, MT

Inevitably talk of the weather ensues pretty much in any type of situation – at the grocery store checkout line, on the phone with a friend or relative, at social gatherings, and the list goes on and on.  In the winter it’s, “burr, cold enough for ya out there?” in the spring it’s, “man, all this rain’s a bummer eh?” in the summer it’s “geese, I can’t stand this heat, it’s pretty bad out there isn’t it?” and in the fall it’s, “the summer’s always over too soon, ain’t that always the way?”  Our human western collective can often be counted on for holding crazy tight onto our points of view and then putting them onto others as though there were only one way of thinking.

One of my practices is to embrace the weather regardless of what is happening in the sky.  This is not to say the weather doesn’t effect my mental and emotional landscape but that I try not to get consumed by what is not only out of my influence but more importantly is a necessary and natural unfolding of the web of life.  We need the rain, the heat, the snow, the clouds, the sun, we need the seasons in all of their differing splendor.

I am often at a loss for what to say when someone comments about the weather and tries to get me to agree with their way of experiencing it.  In an attempt to respond in a short, polite and authentic way to this common exchange without simply agreeing to someone’s perspective (which tends to be negative) I have been offering responses like, “Actually, I think it’s quite nice outside,” or “Oh, I think it’s just great weather out today.”

I have been seeing more and more how the pessimistic side of myself shows up in my everyday living, the side that looks at what’s wrong with things, people, myself, rather than what’s right with them.  It’s this side that I am trying to nurture and cultivate a new path with in this small step in regards to my relationship with the weather.  When I nourish my appreciation for the weather regardless of its attire I am also nourishing my capacity to embrace and care for my own internal weather, one cloudy day at a time.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 11, 2012 in Everyday Practice

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Embracing the Weather

  1. Chelsea Cordelia Raymond

    August 12, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    nicole,
    thanks for the insightful post. i literally gripe about the weather almost every day if its above 75°. its refreshing to think about the weather as something to embrace and accept instead of something to cope with. its funny because sometimes i really do get angry at the weather for being the way it is… like its some conscious and vindictive being. lol. for me weather is most difficult to accept when its hot. i have a really hard time not being upset by the weather when im so physically and then correspondingly mentally uncomfortable because i do not like being hot. i will have to try to “not to get consumed by what is not only out of my influence but more importantly is a necessary and natural unfolding of the web of life.”; even if it is making me consumed in sweaty hotness.
    -chelsea

     
  2. joansheski

    August 12, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    Hi Nicole, I’m finally figuring out how to navigate in here, and so am just starting to read your journals – I got to “I think of my Missoula often, my mountains, my friends, my sangha. My smile shines for them. Here in Plum Village I am both home and not home in the same breath.” – and began to cry, for these are my thoughts exactly from here in New Mexico.

    It is wonderful that we have the same thought – it reminds me that we are parts of the same mind and heart!
    and this weather-post reminds me to be grateful for the gifts of this season here in Grants – torrents of rain after dry heat, and no fires – I am mindful though, of weather’s discomforts (and worse) in other places around the world, and try to send patience energy to them, as my turn will come.

    As I get older and older I don’t know how many more seasons I will have in this life, so I’ve become even more thankful for each one’s uniqueness.
    OM, Namaste,
    Joan

     

Leave a Reply

 
